Drunk on Malbec After a Day on the Shit River (Poem 23 of 30: 2016)

Today was a goddamned wash
I’m in a rotten-dog-ass, roadkill-toothpaste-tube-of-a-squirrel mood
That’s me right now
I spent the day taking care of a personified panic attack
While tending to glass shards in flesh
I tried so hard to find the breeze
Littered with aerosol and flowers
But all I found was the sour
Of an old air conditioner filter
And Legionnaires’ disease
So fucking what if I finally perfected my
Creamy, vegan, soy-free corn chowder recipe
I still have this mess to deal with come Monday
Because every week is one long clean-a-thon
I think I died and went to hell
Because I’m still scrubbing up the same coffeehouse jizz stain
Nothing every changes in the hula-hoop universe
And I’m out of medication
I’m out of time
And money
But I need another gallon of human kindness
And the price for person-hood keeps rising
Like the Euphrates during the rainy season
I think it’s time to take Charon up on his offer
I just need a couple of coins for that greedy Ferryman
I wonder if Hades knows about the scam that bastard is running

About Moly

Average, boring, self-involved human. Twitter: @CultOfCocktails Facebook: facebook.com/MolyTov
This entry was posted in Poetry, Written, Written Work and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

