If I Could Be Anywhere (Poem 16 of 30: 2016)

If I could be anywhere
I’d be hiding underneath the Adirondacks
Or floating in the aquifer
In a mini-sub watching the pride
Of the White Star Line
Slowly consumed by rust
Or tucked into the darkest corner
In awe of the Holy Sink
I’d be chatting with the Birdman
I’d be on 5th street in the late 80’s
I’d be sitting with the Parrots of St. John’s
I’d be hopeful in Highgate
I’d walk through the Black Forest
I’d honeymoon in Pripyat
And summer in Juno
I’d be on the train in anticipation
I’d be at the Neue absorbing Schiele
I’d be back in the Hill Country
I’d be at a drag king bar
I’d be serving as an ashtray
Or a knife sharpener
I’d be learning by living
I’d be willing to do anything
I’d be flattening my head
In a solar powered trash compactor
I’d dive with the wonderpi*
I’d drop acid with my teacher
And kick one into the bucket
I’d be quiet
I’d be collected
I’d stop shooting myself in the foot
For an excuse to limp
I’d be in class
I’d be disintegrating / on re-entry
I’d be in Amsterdam
I’d be in the right place at the right time
I’d say the right thing
Instead of sucking down a prosthetic leg
I’d be in Centralia
I’d be in an abandoned Kirkbride stairwell
Taking evidence as polaroids
I’d be anywhere by now
If I could just get passed the front door


*Wonderpi is the hip new plural of Wonderpus that I just pulled out of my ass; Though I’m undoubtedly not this first to squeeze out that gilded turd!

About Moly

Average, boring, self-involved human. Twitter: @CultOfCocktails Facebook: facebook.com/MolyTov
This entry was posted in Poetry, Written, Written Work and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

