Beat Square (Poem 12 of 30: 2016)

The town is concentricity incessant
In the streets I am cubed
A nautilus drifts by
Indifferent to my suffering
My fate my own
Because I chose wrong
In choosing to keep my corners
Relegated within the walls of myself
Until a keystroke bulldozed my foundation

Forced to live in the margin
A narrow purgatory on the edge
Between the lamplight and hex. zero
Taken in by the accepting Umbers
But I still have to get groceries
I still have to travel out during business hours
Where obsolescent ovoid McCarthyites prevail
Where its acceptable, legal, and encouraged
To detain me
Beat me
Sandblast and disfigure me
Correct the threat of my personality and biology
My natural state
An offense of expression
Effrontery to the circular thinking
That heterogeneity is tantamount to blasphemy

The preeminence of our shared designation as shapes
An extraneous detail
In the mind of the bigoted ‘O’

About Moly

Average, boring, self-involved human. Twitter: @CultOfCocktails Facebook: facebook.com/MolyTov
This entry was posted in Poetry, Written, Written Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

