2 of 30: 30/30 Challenge 2016

Type

I used to collect typewriters
I don’t know much about them
Beyond basic use and maintenance
I just like the feel of the keys
The action on a good Royal appeals to me
The swing of the hammer
The movement of the carriage
The smell of the ink when replacing a ribbon
I dig it

You develop a certain rhythm with a typewriter
Owing to the jam factor
It facilitates flow
The letter strikes drop a mean beat
Auto-hypnotic trance
Meditation over an industrial soundtrack
Turns thought into breath
A poet is a pianist
Melody syncopated, punctuated
By bells and heartbeats
Author becomes mother
Pulling life from one’s self
Novelist is boxer
Blunt-force-painting words as black bruises on bleached pages

The Type Writer is a surgeon
With shotgun precision and white-out sutures
The finished work is itself alive


I bet you thought I wasn’t going to make it. Ha! I did. Barely. 2 of 30 done and I’ve written 3 of 30 already, so, suck it! Or don’t. You’re call.. Actually, now that I am thinking about it.. Don’t. Definitely don’t. I don’t know where you’ve been and… I’m, I’m just sorry I said it at all. I’ve..I’ve got to go.

About Moly

Average, boring, self-involved human. Twitter: @CultOfCocktails Facebook: facebook.com/MolyTov
This entry was posted in Poetry, Written, Written Work and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2 of 30: 30/30 Challenge 2016

  1. Pingback: 3 of 30: 30/30 Challenge 2016 | The Hodge and The Podge or vice versa

Leave a Reply

