Millennial’s Lament

Losing pigment and muscle mass
Too much time indoors
And I can’t seem to remember
The last time I saw the sun

I panic as I wake up
I’m out before the dawn
And coming home long after the day is done
When will I have the time
Or the means for experience
If only I could afford to breathe

When it’s all floating down the river
All I want is a way out of the Münchausen Oligarchy
I don’t want to be an exile in my own community
But I’m slipping through the cracks
And the dues I’m paying won’t be there to catch me
Because the baby boomers fucked me


(For the curious: I was born on a Monday in September of 1987, I wish it could have been different but I had no say in the matter.. If I’d had a choice I think I would have liked to have been born in 1966, just sayin’…)

 

About Moly

Average, boring, self-involved human. Twitter: @CultOfCocktails Facebook: facebook.com/MolyTov
This entry was posted in Poetry, Written, Written Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

